Ambitious New Album From Wynton Marsalis: “He and She” to be released March 24th

Artist: Wynton Marsalis
Album: He and She
Label: Blue Note
Release Date: March 24th, 2009

Pulitzer Prize-winning composer, trumpeter, and bandleader Wynton Marsalis will release his fifth Blue Note recording, He And She. The album is an ambitious, featuring 22 tracks that combine spoken word and music. Tempered with flashes of humor and plenty of swing centered around the compelling and most elemental of subjects, the album explores the relationship between a man and a woman.

Before heading into the studio, the Wynton Marsalis Quintet traveledto the Iron Horse in North Hampton, MA to perform the new material in front of a live audience. The quintet subsequently cut the tracks live over a two-day period. The minimally edited result became He and She.

- 22 tracks of Wynton’s signature jazz style as well as spoken word / poetry
- Album centered around the compelling theme of the relationship between man and woman
- Wynton’s fifth Blue Note Records release
- Wynton is a Pulitzer Prize winner, the first time for a jazz recording
- Wynton is a 9-time Grammy Award® winner across multiple genres

- See Album Review
- Artist information at
- Listening samples at On Target Media Group.
- Latest News! Full streaming album available at

Stay Connected!

More from this category

rss Subscribe to this author

Tagged as: , , , ,